Drake Leads 2023 BET Awards with Seven Nominations as Lizzo and GloRilla Are Also Up to Win Big

The 2023 BET Awards will take place on June 25 in Los Angeles

Drake may soon be taking home some new hardware at the 2023 BET Awards.

The “Jimmy Cooks” rapper is the most-nominated artist heading into the annual ceremony this year, as he’s up for seven prizes, including best male hip–hop artist, best male R&B/pop artist and best group with 21 Savage.

Drake, 36, is also up for best collaboration with Future and Tems (“Wait for U”), plus album of the year and viewer’s choice award.

For All the Dogs: Inside Drake's rags to riches story, from starring on  Degrassi to his record-breaking albums, and tying with Michael Jackson for  the fourth most No 1 hits in history |

The Canadian star released the album Her Loss in November with 21 Savage, and put out Honestly, Nevermind as a surprise release in June 2022.

Trailing Drake with six nominations is GloRilla, who was named a BET Amplified Artist last year. The 23-year-old rapper rose to fame last year with her hit “F.N.F. (Let’s Go),” and is up for best female hip-hop artist, best new artist, album of the year for Anyways, Life’s Great and video of the year and best collaboration for her features with Hitkidd and Cardi B.

Lizzo and 21 Savage each have five nominations, while Beyoncé, Burna Boy, Chris Brown, Ice Spice and SZA are all up for four prizes.

Cardi B, Coco Jones, Flo, Future, Jack Harlow, Kendrick Lamar, Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin and Tems will each vie for three trophies.

The BET Awards, which bills itself as the “ultimate platform to showcase the best, brightest and most beautiful aspects of the Black experience,” will air live from Los Angeles on Sunday, June 25 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on BET. This year’s ceremony will also celebrate 50 years of hip-hop.

Drake lên tiếng sau đêm nhạc có 8 người chết

Fans can vote for the Viewer’s Choice Award here until June 25 at 6:30 pm ET.

See below for this year’s nominees.

Album of the Year
Anyways, Life’s Great, GloRilla

Breezy, Chris Brown

God Did, DJ Khaled

Her Loss, Drake & 21 Savage

Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers, Kendrick Lamar

Renaissance, Beyoncé


Best Female R&B/Pop Artist
Ari Lennox


Coco Jones





Best Male R&B/Pop Artist

Brent Faiyaz

Burna Boy

Chris Brown


The Weeknd


Best Group
City Girls

Drake & 21 Savage



Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin

Quavo & Takeoff


Best Collaboration
“Big Energy (Remix),” Latto & Mariah Carey Feat. Dj Khaled
“Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2,” PinkPantheress & Ice Spice
“Call Me Every Day,” Chris Brown Feat. Wizkid
“Can’t Stop Won’t Stop,” King Combs Feat. Kodak Black
“Creepin’,” Metro Boomin, The Weeknd & 21 Savage
“F.N.F. (Let’s Go),” Hitkidd & GloRilla
“Tomorrow 2,” GloRilla & Cardi B
“Wait For U,” Future Feat. Drake & Tems

Best Female Hip-Hop Artist
Cardi B
Coi Leray
Ice Spice
Megan Thee Stallion
Nicki Minaj

Best Male Hip-Hop Artist
21 Savage
J. Cole
Jack Harlow
Kendrick Lamar
Lil Baby

Video of the Year
“We (Warm Embrace),” Chris Brown
“2 Million Up,” Peezy, Jeezy & Real Boston Richey feat. Rob49
“About Damn Time,” Lizzo
“Bad Habit,” Steve Lacy
“First Class,” Harlow
“Kill Bill,” SZA
“Tomorrow 2,” GloRilla & Cardi B

Video Director of the Year
A$AP Rocky for AWGE

Benny Boom

Burna Boy

Cole Bennett

Dave Free & Kendrick Lamar

Director X

Teyana “Spike Tey” Taylor

Best New Artist
Coco Jones
Ice Spice
Lola Brooke

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award
“Bless Me,” Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin

“Finished (Live),” Tamela Mann

“I’ve Got Joy,” CeCe Winans

“Kingdom,” Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin Feat. Naomi Raine & Chandler Moore

“New,” Tye Tribbett

“One Moment From Glory,” Yolanda Adams

“The Better Benediction (Pt.2),” PJ Morton feat. Lisa Knowles-Smith, Le’andria Johnson, Keke Wyatt, Kierra Sheard & Tasha Cobbs Leonard

Viewer’s Choice Award
“About Damn Time,” Lizzo
“Break My Soul,” Beyoncé
“First Class,” Jack Harlow
“Jimmy Cooks,” Drake Feat 21 Savage
“Kill Bill,” SZA
“Last Last,” Burna Boy
“Super Freaky Girl,” Nicki Minaj
“Wait For U,” Future Feat. Drake & Tems

Best International Act
Aya Nakamura (France)
Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Central Cee (UK)
Ella Mai (UK)
Ko (South Africa)
L7nnon (Brazil)
Stormzy (UK)
Tiakola (France)
Uncle Waffles (Swaziland)

Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act
Asake (Nigeria)
Camidoh (Ghana)
Flo (UK)
Libianca (Cameroon)
Maureen (France)
MC Ryan SP (Brazil)
Pabi Cooper (South Africa)
Raye (UK)
Werenoi (France)

“About Damn Time,” Lizzo
“Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2,” PinkPantheress & Ice Spice
“Break My Soul,” Beyoncé
“Her,” Megan Thee Stallion
“Lift Me Up,” Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From And Inspired By – Rihanna & Ludwig Göransson
“Players,” Coi Leray
“Special,” Lizzo

Best Movie
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Creed 3
The Woman King
Whitney Houston: I Wanna Dance With Somebody

Best Actor
Amin Joseph
Brian Tyree Henry
Damson Idris
Daniel Kaluuya
Demetrius ‘Lil Meech’ Flenory Jr.
Donald Glover
Michael B. Jordan

Best Actress
Angela Bassett
Coco Jones
Janelle James
Janelle Monáe
Keke Palmer
Viola Davis

Youngstars Award
Akira Akbar
Alaya High
Demi Singleton
Genesis Denise
Marsai Martin
Thaddeus J. Mixson
Young Dylan

Sportswoman of the Year Award
Alexis Morris
Allyson Felix
Angel Reese
Candace Parker
Naomi Osaka
Serena Williams
Sha’carri Richardson

Sportsman of the Year Award
Aaron Judge
Bubba Wallace
Gervonta Davis
Jalen Hurts
LeBron James
Patrick Mahomes
Stephen Curry

Related Posts

Our Privacy policy

https://goc5.com - © 2024 News